The Framework from Learning Wales encapsulates the skills that will help learners thrive in an increasingly digital world.

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

    Citizenship – which includes:

  •         Identity, image and reputation
  •         Health and well-being
  •         Digital rights, licensing and ownership
  •         Online behaviour and cyberbullying.

    Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

  •         Communication
  •         Collaboration
  •         Storing and sharing.

    Producing – which includes:

  •         Planning, sourcing and searching
  •         Creating
  •         Evaluating and improving.

    Data and computational thinking – which includes:

  •         Problem solving and modelling
  •         Data and information literacy.


Full details about the Digital Competence Framework is available @ Learning Wales.